Normal text Expanded text Superexpanded text Hight contrast
Principal Home Versión en español Español
"Caminos de Hierro" home
Photo Catalog
(in Spanish)
General information
Travelling exhibition
Anthological exhibition (in Spanish)
The competition seen by...
History of the contest
Mass media
(in Spanish)

"Caminos de Hierro": General information

 29th photo contest "Caminos de Hierro"

TThe jury decision of the 29th photo contest "Caminos de Hierro" took place on September 19, 2018 at the Palacio Fernán Núñez, headquarters of the Foundation of the Spanish Railways, and the awards ceremony and exhibition opening took place in the same place, on September 27th.

The jury's decision, the Awards Ceremony and the Opening of the first exhibition took place in late September 2018, at the Palacio Fernán Núñez, headquarters of the Foundation of the Spanish Railways.

This edition of "Caminos de Hierro" is sponsored by the Grupo Ortiz companies: Cosfesa, Elecor and Ortiz Construcciones.

Jury members

The members of the Jury were: Juan Pedro Galiano (Adif), Pilar García Merino (First Prize 24th “Caminos de Hierro”), Francisco Jiménez Valdivia (Renfe), Isabel Muñoz (photographer, Premio Nacional de Fotografía), Bárbara Mur (expert in photography), Enrique Ortega (Grupo Ortiz); Enrique Sanz (Real Sociedad Fotográfica de Madrid), and Juan Altares (Fundación de los Ferrocarriles Españoles), as the secretary.

Previous editions
Competition rules
Awarded Photos
  Grupo Ortiz
Reunión del jurado del 29º Caminos de Hierro
Reunión del Jurado y entrega de premios del 29º “Caminos de Hierro”
  (Clic para ampliar)
Cristina Bezanilla, José Alberto Sánchez y Tete Alejandre, premiados del 29º Caminos de Hierro
Los fotógrafos y su obra
  (Clic para ampliar)
Members of the Jury and the winner of the 29th "Caminos de Hierro" talk about the contest and the exhibition
  (Clic para reproducir)

Awarded Photos and exhibition

The winners in this edition are: Cristina Bezanilla Echeverría (Laredo, Cantabria), First Prize with the photo "Cuaderno de Vinh a Hue"; Guanghui Gu (Guangzhou, China), Second Prize with the photo "Between Green And Blue"; Armin Amirian (Isfahan, Iran), Young Author Award with the photo "Tent”.

The photographers awarded with an Accésit are: Tete Alejandre (Cáceres); Pablo Elías (Buenos Aires, Argentina); Majid Hojati (Isfahan, Iran), and José Alberto Sánchez Porras (Caravaca de la Cruz, Murcia).

The exhibition with the awarded, selected and pre-selected photos, after its presentation at the Fernán Núñez Palace in Madrid, will visit twelve station in Spain: Córdoba, Cáceres, Valladolid, Oviedo , Santander, Bilbao, Logroño, Zaragoza, Lleida, Valencia, Albacete, and Madrid Chamartín, the last station in January 2020.

This itinerary is done in collaboration with Adif (Administrator of Railway Infrastructures), through its Open Station Program. The objective of this program is to open the stations as a reference place for culture, coexistence and enjoyment of citizens and passengers.

The process of selection

The biennial 29th "Caminos de Hierro" photography contest, was held in April and the deadline for submitting photographs was on 29th May 2018. In this edition 1,595 authors from 62 countries participated with 3,697 photographs (3,459 individual photographs and 238 series, 468 of Young Authors).

In a first phase in June, the Selection Committee chose 149 photographs in digital format from 3,697 photographs submitted.

In a second stage, the authors of the pre-selected photos, sent their works in paper format to take part in the final phase, for the selection and prizes. In July, the Selection Committee chose the finalist photographs that are part of the itinerant exhibition and the catalogue: a total of 41 works, 33 individual and eight series.


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . .
© Spanish Railways Foundation·   Santa Isabel, 44. 28012. Madrid Legal notice